Skip to content

The Coolest Thursday Ever (so far)

March 2, 2013

The posts have been a bit sparse as of late as I’m fixing to go out of the country for a few weeks. However, I did want to share an experience I had on Thursday.

I work on the island of Oahu. Oahu, Hawaii. There’s this show on CBS that’s shot here – Hawaii Five-0. During sweeps week in April – I think it’s going to be April 29 – at the end of the episode you’ll see yours truly and another sailor standing alongside Alex O’Loughlin and Michelle Borth saluting a transfer case containing the remains of a fictitious fallen servicemember.

Call Sheet

Call sheet!

 Image

This is all I can share as far as imagery as I refuse to divulge any points of the plot except it sounds like a freakin’ awesome 42 minutes of television. I may have to start watching the show now.

The whole experience was really cool. I didn’t feel like I was walking into a dream so much as I felt like I was in a place I belonged. And by that I do not mean in front of the cameras, but rather, behind them.

What people say about being on sets of productions and a lot of standing around and waiting being involved – they’re right. However, I was fascinated at all the equipment, the cameras, watching the people run around, doing their jobs – it was so freakin’ cool.

However, the coolest part of the whole morning wasn’t just seeing all the behind-the-scenes stuff, it wasn’t meeting TV stars – guess who was directing the episode: JOE DANTE!!! The man behind Gremlins, Innerspace, The ‘Burbs, my favorite segment of Twilight Zone: The Movie, Small Soldiers, Eerie, Indiana and lots more was directing this episode!

When I found out and saw him from a distance I freaked out like a little fanboy but held it together when we were talking to him and he was giving us direction.

Everyone we talked to on the crew were super-cool and nice, the regular extras were quite chill, and the stars, Alex and Michelle, were pretty cool, too. Alex nailed the salute but the three of us needed to give Michelle a quick class on the technique as she was either scouting for indians or blocking her right eye’s field of vision.

We did about four rehearsals and three takes and that was it. We were on set for about four hours – maybe less.

This is what I want to do with Boondock Media and that’s why the experience was so exciting for me. I’ve got three books in the works, one part of a 13-part series, a couple video projects I’m working on and in the next 15 years I want to produce a 4-5 season TV series and then some films.

That’s not too much, you think, is it?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

