Skip to content

Sometimes…

April 12, 2013

Sometimes I get upset at the apparent disingenuousness I see around me.

Sometimes I get upset at the shiny, happy Christians I see around me and what I perceive to be whitewashed tombs.

Then something happens that shakes me up.

I realize I’ve been doing some painting of my own.

I realize I’ve been ashamed of things that require no shame.

I realize I’ve been brazen with things that benefit from discretion.

I realize I’ve a tendency to survive rather than live, to play it safe rather than to play at all.

I highly recommend to you the documentary Whores’ Glory. It gives names and histories to whores, it humanizes them, the last thing you want to do before considering hiring any. It’s the first thing you want to do if you want to know what it’s like to feel compassion for undesirables, those turned away from church functions, for those who commonly have noses turned up at them and words whispered against them and around them and behind their backs.

 

And it does not give a flattering portrayal of men.

It’s available on Netflix.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Also, nice use of the word disingenuousness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

