Skip to content

A Weird Week Indeed

April 19, 2013

I just returned from Laos a week ago and it’s always weird readjusting to “normal” life after a significant excursion.  This week was made even more weird by the tragic events in Boston; I mean on a Monday of all days…

I just came across this video by Amy Poehler, one of, if not my favorite actresses.  In the video she addresses the Boston bombing in a poignant, gracious way which sums up how I feel about the coverage of the event.  I was sickened by what I saw on the Greta Van Susteren show Monday night when I was at the gym: they kept replaying the footage of the blast over and over on endless loop, as if it was a video created for the Vine video service.  News shows more closely resemble exploitation shows like “World’s Worst Police Chases.”  It’s totally devoid of taste, class and dignity.  It’s all about the shock factor and getting a thrill out of someone else’s misfortune.

Anyway, here’s the video:

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

