Skip to content

A RELEVANT Article

June 4, 2013

I don’t know what it is, but the responsibility of sex seems to be coming more and more to the fore in daily life. Maybe it’s because I’m a guy and I think about it a lot, and so it’s the blue car syndrome, I don’t know. But I read articles like the one this blog links to (Hidden Sexism)) and I can’t help but give pause.

I think about my own interactions with women; both flirtatious and otherwise. Do I cross the line of disrespect? How often? Where is the line between wanting to compliment a woman and objectifying her? I think there is something to be said for the normalization of it in culture.

Sexism is joked and bandied about in modern comedy, but under the mindset of demonstrating absurdity. It’s not an effort to promote or condone it, but to show how awful it is via absurd interactions. Thing is, by this exposure we’re trained to laugh at it, that is, to associate laughter with it, so when it pops up in real life, that’s the go-to reaction and any would-be perps can just write it off as a joke, discounting the woman’s valid feelings. And as the article points out, if she says anything, she’s out of line, taking it too seriously, needing just to chill the eff out.

On the other side of the coin, while this is an issue that needs to be seriously dealt with, it also needs to come with that grace that Jesus is so well-known for and His children not so much. I don’t think Riggs is casting any judgement here, she’s just pointing something out and being honest with her feelings.

So I encourage you to read with an open mind and take a bit of time for a bit of self-reflection.

THE ARTICLE – Hidden Sexism

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

